Conga tunning - do's and dont's of conga tunning

... all the messages not related to the above forums have to be posted here: Thanks!

Postby otto » Thu Jan 15, 2004 5:24 pm

I am a beginner and I have read and heard conflicting views on the tunning of the conga drums. Some say that its ok to leave the drums tuned when you are done and some say that you need to tune down the drums to loosen the skins. I practice almost everyday and find having to retune the drums everyday takes time if its necessary I will gadly continue to do so but if I can leave them tuned without causing any damage it would help.
Thanks for any ideas on this subject
Otto
otto

Postby Johnny Conga » Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:32 pm

First Welcome to this forum. There is a wealth of information here. I would tell you My wooden congas, here in the Northwest stay in tune because of the weather. But when I lived in Miami I had to "de-tune" my drums because of the humidity factor and how it streches the skins out. Second it is not necessarily a fact you have to de-tune after playing each time. Because mine stay in tune, most of the time I might only have to give a half turn on each hook, for one of my 3 congas. My conga heads have also been on the same drums for over 6 years...there is much to learn grasshopper.... :D At your Service...JC JOHNNY CONGA...
Johnny Conga

Postby otto » Thu Jan 15, 2004 7:19 pm

Thanks Johnny Conga
The info was good I have my congas in the basement of my house for now (noise Level, this stage its still noise but getting better) Its been pretty dry and cold here in New York but I see how this can become an issue in the summer.
I got the congas for Xmas and I have been trying to make sure to practice everyday for at least 30min I bought 2 videos that are helpful and have picked up some pointers from them.
But I will use this forum to gather more info from others who have or are traveling same path as I have just started.
Again many thanks
Otto Cruz
otto