building my own congas - help!

... all the messages not related to the above forums have to be posted here: Thanks!

Postby random » Thu Dec 11, 2003 8:11 pm

i'm an experienced woodworker and KNOW i can build a set of congas. the reason i want to build them is that i don't have enough money to buy them and i have cheap access to large amounts of wood.

i know they're stave drums but i need to know: how many staves, what size for the staves, what angles to cut, do i need to steam bend the staves and what hardware/heads should i use. i want to build a 10" quinto, 11" conga, and 12" tumba.

any help would be greatly appreciated.
random

Postby JohnnyConga » Sat Dec 13, 2003 11:20 pm

In his book "Drums in the Americas" Dr. Howard reveals how a drum is made. If you can get a hold of a drum just use that as the example. Go to a store and take the dimensions off of a drum. Look inside the drum and count the staves. Where do you live,? maybe their is a drum maker in your neighborhood. You could do an apprentice thing ya know. A friend of mine did it with Jay from "skin on skin" and knows top to bottem on how to make a drum . But check out Dr. Howards book first, he has the descriptons on how to make a drum........Happy Holidays....Peace and Congas...JC JOHNNY CONGA... ;) HEY I BROKE 700 POSTS ON THIS FORUM!....WOW ;)
JohnnyConga

Postby yoni » Sat Jan 31, 2004 5:54 pm

Congrats on your 700 posts, JC!

I once built a couple of "congas". Figuring out the angles was hard enough, but bending the staves? No way I could do it without the equipment or expertise. So the ones I made were tapered but straight-sided, no belly. I mounted goatskins on them and sold them long ago...
yoni

Postby stlouieray » Sun Feb 01, 2004 12:06 pm

I was wonderin about this topic for a bit, thinking about how much the cost would be in time & materials. How much would just the hardware cost? How about the shell? The head then, add em all up.