Floreo on Okonkolo - OUCH

Forum fully dedicated to the instrument

Floreo on Okonkolo - OUCH

Postby windhorse » Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:47 pm

I've been playing Folkloric Afro-Cuban for about 10 years, but just started to learn bata repertoire.
Wow,, now I feel like like a raw beginner. It has me off balance and wondering why I'm such an idiot.
I want you guys to feel my pain! :roll:
I'm just playing the Okonkolo, the simplest of all, but the last session left me feeling like I had wasted the other guy's time. Here's what I was trying to pick up. It's the floreo to Chachalokefun.
Chacha starts out with just.
|o-s-o-s-|o-s-o-s-| ki-la-ki-la easy right?,, but then the floreo - we start this after "the long call"
|t-s-to--|t-s-to--| I've been working on this for two weeks and still fall out of it like a baby falling out of a crib.
|t-s-toto|t-s-toto| I wrote that with touches since I'm still working it out, but our teacher doesn't use the touches.
I find this much harder than responding to the call between Llango and Chacha.
I think me next step is to get out the metronome and try to fit the pattern to the pulse.

Anybody share this pain? :(
windhorse

Re: Floreo on Okonkolo - OUCH

Postby seisporocho1 » Wed Feb 18, 2009 3:30 am

I just started bata also.
Except I have not been taught any floreo yet. I am focused on just learning the 101 of the part on Okonkolo (he doesn't want me to deviate from the okonkolo until I have down pat) and learning that the most important thing is to just do your part and THAT's IT! At least for now.
My teacher is Lazaro "Tato" Alfonso. He really focuses on keeping things simple and conceptual. I can't imagine myself floreando already, I would be all over the place! :? I can barely sing the chorus while playing the basic parts.
So I do understand how frustrating it must be for you! I feel your pain!!