playing standing with straps

Forum fully dedicated to the instrument

playing standing with straps

Postby rhythmrhyme » Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:41 pm

Hello Forum,

I'm wondering if anyone here plays bata standing with straps.

I've been playing a bit recently with my bata hooked into my djembe harness. The drums resonate really well like this and seem to have more projection, well, to be more accurate they Freaking Scream :lol: ! I also find the playing position of my arms to be more natural and relaxed. Because of this my technique seems tighter and more fluid (I'm still very new to bata and this needs to be taken into account).

I see that African styles of bata are often played standing, and even with a stick on the cha cha end. Does this more relaxed open style of playing ever happen in Afro-Cuban styles or are they always kept locked into a spiritual tradition? As I write this I realize that I've seen many progressive forms of bata playing and have seen them used in a couple local performances. I guess generally I'm a bit confused about the "line" that seems to be out there somewhere regarding the spiritual use of the drums and who I'd potentially upset if I used them in the wrong application - or if that's even possible.. :|
Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana
rhythmrhyme

Re: playing standing with straps

Postby Thomas Altmann » Mon Apr 02, 2012 10:56 am

RR,

in Cuba, too, there are occasions where batá are played in a stand up position, in ritual as well as in concert perfomance.

In Africa, they use leather thongs for the chachá in some areas (no sticks).

As long as you play unconsecrated drums for non-religious events, you can do with your batá whatever you would do with any other drum.