Toques for Yemaya

Forum fully dedicated to the instrument

Toques for Yemaya

Postby KentWindress » Wed Jun 06, 2012 5:52 am

Hi. I'm new to the forum. First I want to say hello to everybody! I live in Australia so the chance to talk about bata is pretty limited. I've gone to Cuba 3 times to learn percussion, and started to learn a little bit about bata, until last time all I wanted to learn was batá! Last trip I was initiated omo aña to the drums aña bi ara, who's oluo is Pedro of Atarés. But because I have never been able to spend extended time there I wouldn't say I'm an expert by any stretch. There's probably half a dozen people who play bata at any decent level in Australia (if that!) and none of them live in my city.

I'm also doing a research master's at the moment. I'm looking at batá drumming on YouTube and what's going on there. I'd like to get some discussions going about that at some stage too.

I'm playing some batá with a couple of guys in Brisbane, and we're looking at accompanying some of the Cuban dance classes going on here. So we have to learn some of the toques for Yemaya and Chango (the hardest!) to accompany the dancers, because they'll always want to dance those orisha. But my question is can someone tell me the names of the toques that are played for Yemaya? I'm thinking specifically about the oru seco and the tratado played on the CFN album with Lazaro Ros and Zenaida Armenteros singing. I know for the seco aro is in there. And for the tratado it's got yakota, aro, and I think dada. I'm hoping someone can help me out here. I can get through about half the oru seco on all 3 drums, and the okonkolo through pretty much all of it. But the iya and itotele are hard work! Anyway, I hope someone can help me out. Thanks,

Kent
KentWindress

Re: Toques for Yemaya

Postby Thomas Altmann » Wed Jun 06, 2012 9:58 am

Hi Kent,

Congratulations for your juramento!