Question about Congas

A place where discuss about secrets, tips and suggestions for practicing on congas and to improve your skill and technique ...

Postby downtime » Sun Oct 05, 2003 2:38 am

Sorry if this is the wrong forum for this post but I wasn't sure where else to put it. Recently I have been really interested in getting into percussion playing, especially congas. My question is that is there actually a pretty decent demand for conga players? I would hate to spend money buying a set, practicing all the time, and not even be able to find someone to jam with. :( Also it kind of seems like you are limited to what you can do with just simply two drums sitting there. Not saying that you are, I'm just new to it. Hopefully I'll be able to get me a set soon and learn something more. :)

Any information would be great. Thanks guys.
downtime

Postby HappySlapper » Sun Oct 05, 2003 2:06 pm

I'm new here too. It's an excellent forum - though I've been lurking until now - hi everyone! ;-)
Bit of a strange question though. I would say there's a demand out there for GOOD musicians, including conga players - but it depends where you live.
I would advise you to find a teacher if possible. And practice practice practice.

One conga's enough to start - but 2 is probably ideal and you'd no doubt want to move onto 3 if and when you really get into it - I'm yearning for a third conga after just over 18 months playing.
There's my 2 (euro) cents...
See ya
Steve
Near Paris

:)
HappySlapper

Postby 120decibels » Mon Oct 06, 2003 2:47 pm

Welcome to both of you!!!

Steve, you hit the nail on the head. Demand for conga players varies with location and skill. If you are a good musician, you can generally find a place to play. However, if the market is saturated with good conga players, then it might be more difficult.