Keeping Loose - keeping hands loose

A place where discuss about secrets, tips and suggestions for practicing on congas and to improve your skill and technique ...

Postby otto » Tue Feb 10, 2004 2:45 pm

Hello all
I have posted once before and got a great deal of good info on my tunning congas post.
As I have perviously stated I am a beginner have been practicing for about a month and a half. I had surgery on my right shoulder to repair rotator cuff and mulitiple tears. I thought that this would be a big problem for since I am right handed. But I am finding that its my left wrist where I am having trouble. I have been following the "mano secreta" method of playing and I try to keep my wrists loose, but after a few days practice (about 45min to 1hr a day) my left wrist get tight and it becomes hard to play.
Is this normal will it improve with time. are there any excerises that I can do to help the situation.
thank for your help.
Otto
otto

Postby Raymond » Tue Feb 10, 2004 5:46 pm

Don't worry. You should improve. Your injury could be making it harder but is normal to feel tightness, sore hands and an ocassional callus until you develop strength. Is very important you identify that the pain/tightness is not because of your injury. If is the injury....stay away for awhile!

Keep it up.

Saludos!
Raymond

Postby CongaCaja » Tue Feb 10, 2004 7:40 pm

One suggestion is to use a mirror while practicing. Often when there is difference in feel (pain vs. no pain) or sound between the two hands, it is because the motion is not the same.

Also, some strokes might come more naturally with one hand than the other. For example, when I started learning technique, my left (weaker) hand had a better open tone than my right, but my right (stronger) hand had a better slap than the left. Everyone might be different depending on experiences/development before playing the congas.