Doubles-strokes again - Doubles as coming from heel-toe motion

A place where discuss about secrets, tips and suggestions for practicing on congas and to improve your skill and technique ...

Postby Simon B » Sun Apr 18, 2004 9:49 pm

I demonstrated my double-strokes to a Cuban congero (see other post). I am very far from mastery, but can get some rudiments out of them useful enough to incorporate in my playing. He showed me what he said was the established method in Cuba and suggested that I practise it regularly for a couple of months, then evaluate this method as compared to my own (he was of the firm belief that there was nothing wrong with using your own method if you found it superior in tone and efficiency than the established route, but that you need to have tried the 'way' so as to be able to compare).

Now my own 'way' to produce the double - no doubt a highly amateur method which I have been working on hard for the last two months in particular (had given up a year ago through lack of success!) - is to raise the hand using ONLY the wrist, no forearm movement (forearms just slightly above edge of drum), and to let it drop, simple as that. Raise it higher to get the open slap. I noticed from the videos of Gio and Anga that they put forearm into it but I assumed this to be only necessary at the great speeds which they could attain. My Cuban friend (thank you by the way Javier for the tips) said that the movement ultimately comes not from a plain drop and bounce but more a heel push in and a toe drag back, with forearm withdrawing at last minute (so going back and forward slightly). When he did this slowly the movement was exaggerated: when he did them quickly, it was not obvious, but there none the less. He was still not plainly dropping the hand like I was, but pushing the forearm and hand in onto the edge of the drum for the first open tone, the bounce which allowed the raise and then dragging it back to 'catch' the drum. So the whole movement is similar t