Tuning - Can a Quinto be tuned to middle C?

A place where discuss about secrets, tips and suggestions for practicing on congas and to improve your skill and technique ...

Postby CongueroLI » Fri Sep 21, 2007 4:37 pm

Hi Guys,

I'm pretty new to drumming and I'm struggling a bit with tuning. I've read a lot about it in this forum, and many people suggest that you tune your quinto to middle C. I can't even tune my (12.5") tumba to middle C and get a tone out of it. Does anyone really tune to Middle C? The best tones I've gotten have been with tumba tuned to G above mid C, conga (11 3/4") tuned to B-C (above middle C), and quito (11") tuned to E, but then the set is tuned very high, and not pleasing to my ear for solo practice. I'm not sure they should be tuned this high. Can I damage them? Thanks to all the great drummers out there for any insights!
CongueroLI

Postby Thebreeze » Sat Sep 22, 2007 6:50 am

Hi CongueroLI....May I suggest you take a peek at Topic Titled "Sweet Spot on a Conga". I started that topic because I realized that each drum, quinto,conga,tumba, has it's own sweet spot. That's the point where the drum reaches it's optimum resonance and sound. I remember once having a King Conga 10 1/2 incher. I tuned it to it's sweet spot, then decided to tighten it up a little more and when I did that, I got the higher pitch I wanted, but the resonance was gone. Please look at the Sweet Spot on a Conga Topic and I think you will find a few really good comments on the subject and also how some people tuned their drums taking the sweet spot into account.
Thebreeze

Postby burke » Sat Sep 22, 2007 1:39 pm