One percussion instrument at a time? Or more?

A place where discuss about secrets, tips and suggestions for practicing on congas and to improve your skill and technique ...

One percussion instrument at a time? Or more?

Postby bongosnotbombs » Fri May 08, 2009 5:43 pm

Kind of a carry over from a different thread and from conversations I have been having lately.
There is a phrase "The fox that chases two rabbits, catches neither."

Applying this to percussion, do you guys believe you should master one instrument completely before
moving onto the next? Or do you work at several instruments simultaneously?

Myself, I started on bongos and when I added congas I felt they really informed each other as musically.
The technique was a little different, but the material I was learning on the congas really helped me with
bongos.
Then when I started learning rumba, I spent time with all the instruments, shekere, bell, clave and palitos.
For me it's better to play rumba/folkloric knowing all the instruments, tumbadoras and everything else.

I'm looking forward to learning bata soon and have the feeling that this will only help the other instruments as
well.

Of course I understand the concept of specializing in one instrument as well, or limiting oneself to just a couple. Not that
I disagree, it's just not the way for me.
bongosnotbombs

Re: One percussion instrument at a time? Or more?

Postby Congadelica » Fri May 08, 2009 8:10 pm

I am pretty much with you on this I have been thinking in a similar way of late .
I am currently learning Rumba , Bata and Folklorico rythms in 3 separate study groups . at times I feel Im leaving myself thin on the ground learning too much at once . But in the short time 6 months I can honestly say each disciplin complements the other in some ways .
My mentor told me its the best way to learn by just getting deep with it .
I have had a great time learning , its hard sometimes not to be thinking of all things .