Building callouses

A place where discuss about secrets, tips and suggestions for practicing on congas and to improve your skill and technique ...

Postby Firebrand » Mon Nov 19, 2007 2:00 am

Guys,

Just wanted to know if there were any special tricks to building rock-hard hands. I play daily for 30 minutes to an hour to keep rudiments current, and although I've noticed some small callouses, my hands just do not match the hands of some older players I know (more on gig days, and I can't spend much more because I'm also an electric bassist, drummer, and Puerto Rican Cuatro player, so I have to dedicate some time to those instruments as well). Granted, they have YEARS on me, but I'd like to know if there any tactics to speeding up the building of callouses.

For example, I know Giovanni used to play boxes early on his life, etc.

Is there anything that can artificially promote the development of callouses (creams, etc.)

Just thinking out loud here. I'm not looking for an easy supplement to daily practice. I would just like to be as efficient as possible in building the callouses necessary for more protected playing and louder conga hits.

As a side note, I've noticed my playing has gotten much crisper and louder. At a local jam of rumberos, it was apparent I was the more mature musician on congas, so it was very rewarding to see my daily practice having a positive outcome.

ON EDIT:

http://www.scenicnewengland.net/guitar/acoustic/hand/callus.htm

This page seems to suggest alcohol to dry hands...hmmm...does that sound safe to you guys?

Edited By Firebrand on 1195438054
Firebrand

Postby yambu321 » Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:16 am

FIREBRAND,