Congas and contempory music - patterns for funk etc

A place where discuss about secrets, tips and suggestions for practicing on congas and to improve your skill and technique ...

Postby No.2-1820 » Mon Jan 14, 2008 6:17 pm

Hi all, just wondered if any one wanted to chat or share ideas regarding congas in other settings, in particular funk. I am an obsessive student of Afro Cuban rhythms but also have a big interest in applying the congas in other musical situations. I'm a big fan of Henry Gibson, Curtis Mayfield's percussionist and like to try and decode what he was doing. He seems to actually place a loose variation of Guaguanco in a number of songs ('Move on up' for example). It's these kind of things that interest me, do you guys tend to apply Cuban rhythms to different music ? Do you shadow the trap drums ? Just improvise and apply rudiments ? Apply Samba patterns ?

Another big inspiration for me is Eddie "Bongo" Brown who played with Marvin Gaye, I read that he was a fan of Chano Pozo.

Just wondered what you all thought as it seems Cuban applications are clear and well defined but outside of that you are on your own !

Barrie
No.2-1820

Postby Mike » Mon Jan 14, 2008 6:54 pm

I'm a big fan of Henry Gibson, Curtis Mayfield's percussionist

So am I, really groovy stuff.
And yes, "applying" conga patterns to funk etc. works quite well, especially with songo!
Cheers
Mike
Peace & drum
Mike

Postby tfunk » Mon Jan 14, 2008 7:06 pm

Hey Barrie,
I too am very interested in the same things, and am a huge fan of both Master Henry Gibson and Eddie "Bongo" Brown.

I try, in my playing to do many of those same things. With the funk/rock band I play with, I tend to use a lot of songo-esque variations, along with tumbao variations with different "swings" that depend a lot on the our kit drummers pattern for the particular tune. I also love Gibsons funked up Gua-Gua grooves and try to incorporate those also (he used congas & bongos together to create some of them).