Bleeding on my congas

A place where discuss about secrets, tips and suggestions for practicing on congas and to improve your skill and technique ...

Bleeding on my congas

Postby baboulebou » Wed Dec 16, 2009 6:34 pm

Hi,

So I started playing congas 6 months ago, but have been playing drums for 15 years or so. I play congas in a band, and it sounds fine to me on the recordings. But here's my problem, every time I play a fast song the skin on the middle and index fingers of my right hand cracks and opens, yesterday I was literally bleeding on my skins.

Is this normal? What am I doing wrong? Any piece of advice :?:

Thanks in advance,

./\lex.
baboulebou

Re: Bleeding on my congas

Postby JohnnyConga » Wed Dec 16, 2009 7:09 pm

Well speed on the drum has nothing to do with your skin...you might want to try putting on some skin cream for your hands before playing....i have been playing for 45 years and my fingers still split and crack even with skin cream...so use one inch bandaids for your fingers when playing ..i also do that...this may help you..."JC" Johnny Conga
My hands 2008.jpg
My hands 2008.jpg (19.05 KiB) Viewed 13419 times
JohnnyConga

Postby vinnieL » Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:26 pm

Ouch!
vinnieL

Postby onile » Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:43 pm

Santababeech! I hate those splits!
They happen to most all players from time-to-time. The more you play (hopefully executing good hand technique), the more calloused you hands and fingers become, the less likelihood of splits. I concur with brother JC, taping your fingers, or applying some creme, lotion, palm oil to your hands before playing will help decrease the chances quite a bit.

I think that there is an old thread on this subject here somewhere. Either way, I carry a small container of palm oil when I play out and apply it liberally on my hands and congas when I play. This also decreases the desire of other congueros who aren't familiar with this, to want to sit in and play my drums, he! he! he!

Suave!

Onile!