Technique on new congas question

A place where discuss about secrets, tips and suggestions for practicing on congas and to improve your skill and technique ...

Technique on new congas question

Postby sonorlite » Sun Mar 14, 2010 10:32 pm

I am new to congas having played drums for many years. I'll be starting lessons at Rhythms Traders in Portland, Or soon.

I have a new Isla conga/tumba pair. These are skinned very high where the hoop is almost level with the head. It's very hard to play any kind of slap without hitting the hoop since it's level with the head and even open notes wil loccasioanlly hit the hoop. Mario said in time (several months) the hoops will come down I would guess due to head stretching and needing more tension to produce the same tone.

Anyone have suggestions either how to speed up the process so I can get the hoop further down or how play slaps without hitting the hoop.
Attachments
congas.jpg
sonorlite

Re: Technique on new congas question

Postby Sakuntu » Mon Mar 15, 2010 2:31 am

viewtopic.php?f=14&t=4853

Check out the thread above. I had the same problem... It will take some life out of your skins...but it may help... either that or get some comfort curve rims...I have some LP ones available...but I don't know if they would fit your drums...
Sakuntu
Sakuntu

Postby OLSONGO » Mon Mar 15, 2010 4:36 am