Is this a good ideia?

A place where discuss about secrets, tips and suggestions for practicing on congas and to improve your skill and technique ...

Is this a good ideia?

Postby joaozinho » Mon Mar 15, 2010 2:48 pm

I'm new in congas drums,so i'm trying to develop basic movements.My left hand is not to strong and it's being hard to make good heel-toe movements.I thougt that I could improve the strenght and speed of my left hand whit this "gloove".is basicly a sac whit sand.I play rudiments for about 45m,and the funny thing is that after taking the gloove away,my hand just fly.I dont know if is a good ideia,but I can see clearly the improvements.

Please give me your opinions!!

Thanks!!
DSCN1130.JPG
joaozinho

Re: Is this a good ideia?

Postby joaozinho » Mon Mar 15, 2010 2:50 pm

DSCN1128.JPG
joaozinho

Postby SpEd » Mon Mar 15, 2010 5:41 pm

Interesting idea, but wondering if you might be heading toward injury/pain with the added weight.

I have been able to see improvement myself in speed and sound with just regular play... practice slowly, consistently and with exaggerated movements to begin with, and you'll be surprised at your improved abilities each time you sit down to practice.

I've concluded that there is no substitute for regular and consistent practice.
SpEd

Postby Omelenko1 » Mon Mar 15, 2010 6:05 pm

I think is a great idea. The added weight on the left hand is good to practice the "tumbao" (heel, finger tip, slap). Is good to practice that with the left for a good 30 mins. Then do the "tumbao" without the weight, you'll be much faster and very efficient.

Dario
Omelenko1

Postby burke » Mon Mar 15, 2010 9:00 pm

Wow that is freaky! I've been doing exactly the same thing with almost the same setup for about a two months!

BTW this has come up before, but with finger weights (from drumstick weights) - JC talked about it a few years back - search finger weights.