beginner: one conga or two

Manufacturers, brands, skins, maintenance, stands, sticks, michrophones and other accessories for congueros can be discussed into this forum ...... leave your experience or express your doubts!

beginner: one conga or two

Postby jp-90 » Sat Sep 08, 2012 6:21 pm

Hey there, I'm an avid kit drummer who, after becoming pretty obsessed with Henry Gibson's playing on the Phillip Cohran records, would like to take up the congas.

I know a conga set can be as big or small as anyone likes, but what is best for a beginner? As a serious musician, I usually like to avoid complete beginner-grade drums. Perhaps I'm spoiled. Would y'all recommend starting with one nice conga instead of two beginner drums? It seems that in the used market I can get a matador, or perhaps even a classic for the price of two LP aspires. My inclination is to start with one nicer drum, but will this slow my learning?

THANKS.
jp-90

Re: beginner: one conga or two

Postby Derbeno » Sat Sep 08, 2012 7:33 pm

One good 11.75'' Conga will be absolutely perfect to start and also to carry on in future.

Once you start playing in bands you can add a Tumba, in a folkloric ensemble situation you just need the one.
Echale candela, p'afinar los cueros
Derbeno

Postby bongosnotbombs » Sat Sep 08, 2012 9:42 pm

one drum is fine to start, it's how I started off. A Matador or an LP classic is fine.
bongosnotbombs

Postby rhythmrhyme » Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:26 pm

Welcome!

I think most forum members would agree with you not getting a cheap beginner drum to start. If cost is an issue, you're better off getting a used Matador or LP Classic than spending a similar amount of money on an Aspire set or other beginner drum. Getting the right technique is initially very important and proper sound feedback from the drum helps a lot.