Introduction, and some Conga Questions.. advice appreciated

Manufacturers, brands, skins, maintenance, stands, sticks, michrophones and other accessories for congueros can be discussed into this forum ...... leave your experience or express your doubts!

Introduction, and some Conga Questions.. advice appreciated

Postby JoePasko » Wed Sep 23, 2015 1:59 pm

Hi. My name is Joe, I am 54 years old and I live in Albany NY. I play many different percussion instruments and hand drums,
but I've never seriously played conga before. For most of the last 35 years, I have played electric bass in various
bands, as well as accordion and banjo. Playing percussion has always been more of a side-interest for me, until now :
as I am now playing percussion in a band called Three Quarter North. This is my first time ever being the full-time percussionist for a band, and I am loving it !

-----

A couple of years ago, my sister gave me a used pair of Cosmic Percussion congas, as a birthday present. She got them cheap at a 'divorce sale'. The labels say "Cosmic Percussion, presented by Latin Percussion".

They've been sitting in my basement, until recently I decided to do something with them. They are 10" and 11" diameter. I removed them from the crappy dual stand to which they were attached, and purchased an individual stand for the larger one. I took that drum apart and cleaned it up, etc. .. now I want to install a new head.

The replacement heads they sell specifically for CP congas must be for a newer design .. they come 9" and 10", and the crown height appears to be only about 1/2". The crown height of my original heads is more like 1". I have already read the older Cosmic-related threads here ... so I know that CP drums have undergone many design changes over the years.

So is there a 11" head for another LP model that will fit on my CP drum ? Or a synthetic head from Remo that will work ?