NEWBIE WANTING TO LEARN IN MIAMI,FLA - WANT TO LEARN ERE TO PLAY CONGAS

Teachers looking for students and vice-versa can use this forum to post their announcements (please include State, City and Contact infos)

Postby jorgedemiami » Sat Mar 23, 2002 2:12 am

Hi new to forum, Ive always loved to play drums as kid
and have pretty good rythym. I am in the MIAMI AREA KENDALL. First were in Miami can I a descent set of congas,
medium price range. Also are there any classes that anyone
can inform me to learn how to play....

THANKS JORGE
jorgedemiami

Postby JohnnyConga » Sat Mar 23, 2002 4:09 pm

:D Hello Jorge. I sent you an email with my home phone number. I live on Miami Beach. I have been a Professional Musician and Teacher for over 30 years. I am available for private lessons in my home, at your convienence. Welcome!...Let's Do It! :D .At your Service....JC JOHNNY CONGA......PS...chek my history out at http://www.ShowGigs.Com/JohnnyConga..... :D
JohnnyConga

Postby Bongo Boy » Fri Jul 05, 2002 3:34 am

jorgedemiami wrote:were in Miami can I a descent set of congas,
medium price range

You can get a decent set of congas, no matter where you are on the planet, by using the internet. I would recommend http://www.musiciansfriend.com as one reliable source (I ordered from these folks many, many times and have received good service--product shows up in less than 5 days), although I'm sure there are many others.

If you have to see and touch before you buy, then use the internet to find your nearest Guitar Center--they usually have at LEAST a selection of LP and Toca. Here's one:

Guitar Center Kendall
7736 N. Kendall Dr.
Miami, FL 33156

I have no financial interest in or preferencial association with Guitar Center or Musicians Friend--just a customer.
Bongo Boy

Postby benbaboon » Fri Jul 05, 2002 5:05 pm

I definitely like to touch before I buy (or buy knowing it would still be a good deal even if I don't like the heads).