M. Santamaria Technique

A new project has been started, everybody is invited to partecipate .... visit the forum to view more...

Postby +pablo+ » Sat Nov 26, 2005 9:01 pm

I just got a hold of the 2-CD "Skin on Skin" Mongo Sanatmaria Anthology; Awsome!!

Looking at some of the liner pics, it appears that Mongo has the main conga tilted towards himself (even in the 'action' shot p.16). Is that really how he played ?

Also, is it true that "tumbadora," means literally "something that knocks you down", or "grave"? thanks!
+pablo+
+pablo+

Postby JohnnyConga » Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:38 pm

Another meaning for "Tumba" is "tomb" a grave...and yes Mongo being really ol skool tipped his conga in towards him and sat very low in his chair, which resulted in a hip replacement years later because of the way he "lifted" his conga to "palm" it...I studied and learned Mongo's style, from the man himself, he was a dear friend and he taught me a lot, just by watching....I can play just like him lick for lick, and I also show my students "his style"...."JC" Johnny Conga...

Attachment: http://mycongaplace.com/forum/eng/uploa ... and_Me.jpg
JohnnyConga

Postby zaragemca » Thu Feb 16, 2006 7:56 pm