meinl Marathon series

Forum fully dedicated to the instrument

meinl Marathon series

Postby blavonski » Tue Aug 02, 2011 1:26 am

Hello,
I'm new here and have already found some very helpful tips concerning all things bongo.
I've been playing ( a freinds Meinl Headliner series) for about six months and decided to get my own pair. But, I didn't really like the compfort rims on the Hdliners for a number of reasons, but I like wood block and being able to adjust the rims.
At any rate, I recently purchased a set of Meinl Marathon Series, (I'll try to load a foto asap if neccessary), from E-Bay for 24,00 €.
Could someone please give me any info and or personal opinions regarding this series of Meinl Bongo e.g. Years they were made; Playing level; what type of (original)skin it may have? (The skin is thinner than the ones on my friends HDLiner series and it's clear in some parts and whiteish in others.)

The seller on e-bay replied to my question regarding the condition, that there were'n and damadges as far as he knew. I received them and the hembra had two cracks one about 2,5 In. and the other almost all the way from top to bottom at the stave holes. :( Other than that they are in very good condition; They don't appear to have been played very often at all.
So, I opened the larger crack all the way, glued it; strapped it and it's setting up as i write and, I suppose, I'll have to resort to the cyrindge method that some one mentioned here someplace for the small crack. Unless there's another method besides splitting it all the way and glueing it like the first one.? Also, someone here mentioned that when a shell cracks it shrinks some in size. That may very well explain the uneveness with the space between the wood and the bottom rim. It's nothing severe, but I noticed hat it wasn't as snug as the Macho rim.

I'll leave it at that for now and thanks a bunch for this site and any replys that i receive.
blavonski

Re: meinl Marathon series