Martillo variations at high tempo - Some impossible?

Forum fully dedicated to the instrument

Postby Charangaman » Wed Nov 23, 2005 2:49 pm

Bongoceros...

So, I am still a relative beginner to this artform..
I have a solid martillo going and can build up good speed, for instance I am comfortable with a Timba or Son montuno type speed..

I can work a few of the easier variations into this high tempo music but many complex variations which I can execute well to slower stuff just seem physically impossible to pull off...

Do I work them at half speed or just practice every variation until I'm like Jack Costanzo?
Charangaman

Postby onile » Wed Nov 23, 2005 6:03 pm

Alafia Brother Charangaman!
I hope that you are well and in an abundance of blessings my brother!

You will most certainly get some great ideas on this forum, might I suggest that you give brother Caballoballo a PM to ask him, also Ralph seems to play bongo a little more regularly than some of us. It does help however to keep our chops up. In my studio at home (which was my family room once), I have two sets of (3) drums, a set of timbales, two sets of bongo out at all times, just to motivate me to play on each of them. Isn't drummin' fun.............. :p

Many blessings my brother, and hopefully you are having a great time playing!

Suave!
Onile!

Edited By onile on 1132769083
Que Nsambi les acutare pa' siempre!
onile

Postby Charangaman » Wed Nov 23, 2005 6:20 pm

onile, good evening maestro.. I hope the blessings are in much abundance in your household also!..

Indeed the drummin is the MOST fun..And keepin me warm in these freezin temperatures.. Rather than discuss by pm though.. maybe the brothers can share in open debate?..
Charangaman

Postby onile » Wed Nov 23, 2005 6:30 pm

Absolutely!
I'm sure they will eitherway my friend!

Sweet!
Onile!
onile

Postby ralph » Wed Nov 23, 2005 6:35 pm