Bongo buying - advice

Forum fully dedicated to the instrument

Bongo buying - advice

Postby tigerjack89 » Fri Nov 20, 2015 2:29 pm

Hi there.
I'm searching for a new set of bongos and I've decided to choose an LP set. So, my main choices are three:
  • LP Aspire A601-AW (~105€, but I've found it secondhand at a lower price)
  • LP Matador 201 (~160€)
  • LP201AX2 BONGO GENERATION II (~270€)

Because I can't find any real difference between the them looking at their specific details, I'm asking advice to you all on what to buy and why. I'm not a professional player, but I will be playing in an amatorial band the next month, so I'd like a good sound.

Thanks in advance.
tigerjack89

Re: Bongo buying - advice

Postby caballoballo » Sat Nov 21, 2015 2:39 pm

Saludos, I'll go for the Matador if it the Custom model . It is cheaper, comes with steel hardware including the bottom hoops and With the correct skins will sound as good or better than the Lp 2gen, both are made of the same wood so why to pay more The aspire you can discard it. One thing on both lps is that the only good part of the skins assembly is the flesh hoop
. So, the Matador is cheaper than the 2gen and with that saved money you can buy better skins.

The Matador on the picture hardware is powder coated.
Attachments
received_980555065288857.jpeg
Josean
caballoballo

Postby tigerjack89 » Sat Nov 21, 2015 4:34 pm

caballoballo wrote:Saludos, I'll go for the Matador if it the Custom model . It is cheaper, comes with steel hardware including the bottom hoops and With the correct skins will sound as good or better than the Lp 2gen, both are made of the same wood so why to pay more The aspire you can discard it. One thing on both lps is that the only good part of the skins assembly is the flesh hoop
. So, the Matador is cheaper than the 2gen and with that saved money you can buy better skins.

The Matador on the picture hardware is powder coated.

Thanks for your help.