timbale heads & sticks - talking heads

Forum fully dedicated to the instrument

Postby twinsbongo » Sat Jan 20, 2007 6:30 am

i have been playing timbales for almost 3 years.i first started with lp heads, then with evans and now i have remo ebony single ply. anything better out there.about the sticks i have been using the alex acuna conquistador. i guess the ones you can buy in McDonalds.anything better out there. help help
remember i am not a timbalero i am a bongocero so is probably me being piki
saludos mi gente
julio ft worth
twinsbongo

Postby tamboricua » Sat Jan 20, 2007 3:24 pm

Julio,

Try Remo Ambassadors Clear drumheads if you are looking for a brighter, open contemporary timbal sound. If you are into a more traditional timbal sound try Remo's Ambassadors Coated or Remo's Renaissance drumheads.

Regarding timbale sticks check out Vic Firth's TMB2. This new model had been in the market for about a year, very nice timbale sticks.

I have plenty for sale if you want to try them. Give me a call!!!

Hope this helps!

Saludos,

Jorge Ginorio

Edited By tamboricua on 1169309718
tamboricua

Postby twinsbongo » Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:18 am

que pasa ginorio es julio el de ft worth. dois te bendiga. llamame cuando puedas. i need some of those sticks you have for sale.give me a call
twinsbongo

Postby Raymond » Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:53 pm

The most used timbale heads out there are either Remo Ambassador or Evans G1. The clear ones will give you more overtones and the coated ones will project less but will take away the overtones. Of course, this is the modern sound.

Heads with a more old sound try to get Remo Renaissance or Remo Emperors. (Thicker heads with a more sloppy sound).