Timbales - Books

Forum fully dedicated to the instrument

Postby JohnnyConga » Tue Oct 30, 2001 2:57 am

How to play Latin Rhythms by the late great Humberto Morales and Henry Adler for Timbales is a must. It has just been re-issued. It is the "First Skool" not (Old Skool) of Timbale playing. I studied Timbales with the late great Uba nieto the Timbalero with Machitos Orch. ,and we used that book. and his Timbale charts from the Orch. which scaredd me to death. Whew! Could those guys read....and know there rhyhms too!. At the top left corner of the charts was the name of the rhythm to be played .ex. Beguine,Cha-cha-cha,Merengue. so you better know your rhythms and know how to read or at least follow a chart,plus count bars. That is the music school of Latin music.....JC JOHNNY CONGA....
JohnnyConga

Postby ozrivera » Sat Jun 02, 2007 4:44 pm

i was searching to see if i could find any reference's on changuitos master approach to timbales and didnt find any so, if you own it please let me know if its worth the buy.
i did come acros this topic and was curious about the book,
JC
is this the the re issued book?

http://www.amazon.com/Play-La....&sr=1-3

please let me know

thanks

oz
Pa-tra ni-pa cojer impulso.
ozrivera

Postby Raymond » Mon Jun 04, 2007 3:33 pm

I am not familiared with Changuitos book you are talking about but from what I've seen his books tend to be "challenges". Not for everyone. Changuito is a master of independence and creator of playing pattersn and they are great books but if you are looking for beginner...the best book I've seen is Tito Puentes' Mambo King book. (This is the one issued just after his death. I have it but can't find it to give you the right name).