Splash cymbal: 16-inch vs. 18-inch - Which one if you can only own one?

Forum fully dedicated to the instrument

Postby umannyt » Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:13 pm

This may have been discussed before, but my question is a bit more specific (involving a specific brand--Sabian): If you could only own 1 crash cymbal for your timbales, which would you pick: a 16-inch, 18-inch or another size (such as a 17-inch)?

More specifically, between the Sabian El Sabor Picante 16-inch and it's 18-inch counterpart (especially for those who have actually played with either or, better yet, both), which would you recommend as being the more versatile crash cymbal?

Thanks in advance,

Edited By umannyt on 1199486044
umannyt

Postby umannyt » Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:27 pm

Sorry, this topic should have been entitled:

"Crash cymbal: 16-inch vs. 18-inch"

Not being a kit drummer, I still get mixed up between the crash cymbal and the splash cymbal. Habits do take a while to form, especially for an "older" dog like me. :D

I'm wondering how the topic can be changed. Since I started it, can I do it? Or, can only the moderator do it?

Either way, it'd be good to change it to avoid any more confusion.

Thanks,

Edited By umannyt on 1199502576
umannyt

Postby OLSONGO » Sat Jan 05, 2008 2:20 am

I prefer the sixteen ( Istanbul Agop ) it kicks and gives me a quick decay.

Paz, OLsongo
OLSONGO

Postby Mike » Sat Jan 05, 2008 9:47 am

Umannyt, have you checked the sound files on the Sabian website?
Apart from that, I also think a 16" is enough.
I heard good things from the Zildjian Azuka 18" though.
By the way, some while (well, actually - years?) ago there has been some discussion on cymbals (hand cymbals as well as cymbals for timbales), but the Sabian AAX Picante Crash series hadn´t been on the market then.
To repeat myself, I find the 16" a fantastic cymbal due to its versatility and sound ("Latin", jazzy, raw, dirty, kicking - whatever you want).

Mike

Edited By Mike on 1199864103
Peace & drum
Mike