demonstration of the harmonics in congas

One thread per person please. Feel free to share with us your photos and video clips from your gigs, jams, rumbas, etc etc. No random clips or images, this is a section for our members to post up and promote their own projects and adventures.
Forum rules
One thread per person please. Feel free to share with us your photos and video clips from your gigs, jams, rumbas, etc etc. No random clips or images, this is a section for our members to post up and promote their own projects and adventures.
Lets keep it positive.

demonstration of the harmonics in congas

Postby salzfaas » Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:00 pm

Hello everyone again .I told you I would put up another piece ,so I have ,as I was enjoying my new camera.
This is to demonstrate the good use of the harmonic note found in good congas.
I studied bougarabou, and this note is used a lot.some people refer to it as the overtone, and are always in the pursuit of dissing drums with this sound.personally I feel it is an added bonus used in the right way.listen for yourself and tell me what you think?
thanks for looking in advance
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qku9SRze6bs

it would be good to have a discussion about this one.

vincent
salzfaas

Re: demonstration of the harmonics in congas

Postby windhorse » Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:06 pm

Vincent, I love the way you've put this rhythm together.
And though I'm one of those who generally "disses" overtones in conga sound, I can appreciate when the tones are used well. In my opinion, the type of sound really is secondary to the musicianship of the player. It's how the player uses what they've got.
Again, nice work.

Dave
windhorse

Postby congamyk » Tue Mar 30, 2010 1:45 am

interesting clip, thanks for posting.
congamyk

Postby CongaTick » Tue Mar 30, 2010 7:26 pm

Vincent,

Absolutely, absolutely love it and what you do with those VP's. Great groove I would love to emulate on 3 or 4 tubs.
CongaTick