Disillusioned Conguero - Thinking of giving up

If you don't find a specific forum, post your message here (please read all the forum list first).

Postby mangorockfish » Sat Jun 26, 2004 1:28 am

I've been trying to learn to play congas, with a teacher and all the stuff I can pick up on my own, for about 10 months. I know it takes a long time to get past the beginner stage. I've been playing drum kit for about 40 years and I look at where I am on it and where I am on congas and get very frustrated. I am always asking myself, "What's the use"? Do any of you ever get in this frame of mind?, and if so what do you do to get out of it? I'm thinking of giving up and just concentrating on drumset. I play "alternative", "rock & roll" and "accoustic pop". Any help will be greatly appreciated. :(
mangorockfish

Postby congastu » Sat Jun 26, 2004 1:56 am

Three words: dont give up!!!
Its like anything worthwhile- theres always going to be ups and downs, but over time the ups will outweigh the negatives.
I always find that I usually feel flat and stale [like Im going nowhere] just before something clicks and you move onto the next level. Its almost like youre just waiting for your hands to catch up with your mind and ears, so take this feeling as a sign that your getting better!
As far as playing out goes, we are not always in control but your more likely to make your own luck by just working hard. Beware comparison and think about what you want from this beautiful instrument. Believe and itll come. Dont fight the drum- it may sound cheesy, but if you love it, itll love you back.
Good luck, brother!!
Peace and love, stu
congastu

Postby RayBoogie » Sat Jun 26, 2004 9:29 am

Great advice Stu. You hit on something that I had and I believe a lot of drummers suffer, "the comparison stage". As Stu states, think about what you want from the congas. Eventually, the congas will respond to you in the way you want it to respond. "DON'T GIVE UP!"