" Trigger Finger " problem

If you don't find a specific forum, post your message here (please read all the forum list first).

" Trigger Finger " problem

Postby yeeman » Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:13 am

Has anyone developed trigger finger problems & associate it with playing hand drums ?
I had it in my left index finger 3 years ago & had it treated with acupuncture. I just had my 3rd acupuncture treatment today for my left middle finger. I'm hoping I will be OK after today.....until next time.
yeeman

Re: " Trigger Finger " problem

Postby thomas newton » Sat Jan 23, 2010 12:33 pm

Ok, I'm not an expert but when my hands hurt (which is rare so far), I stop playing. I mean really stop. Playing isn't my living so I have no reason to carry on until I've recovered.

Acupuncture is fine as a symptomatic treatment but it won't remove the underlying condition.
Personally, I'd stop playing, get proper treatment for the condition. In the mean time I'd sing, play clave, kata, learn new songs etc.

There may be technical reasons relating to your playing that has brought this on. Seek some advice on that.
Tradition is not the custody of ashes but the propagation of fire.
thomas newton

Postby pavloconga » Sun Jan 24, 2010 12:38 am

I had a problem around 10 years ago with my right index finger, probably due to my technique at the time.
Had to rest it a lot, had a few kinds of treatment including massage and osteopathy.
Did a lot of soaking in hot water with salt and other things. I needed to rest it a lot.

These days it's very rare for me to have any issues with my hands (though just a few weeks ago had an injury not related to drumming, I rested for 10 days before even touching a drum). Better technique these days (especially what I learned in Cuba) enables me to play more with less problems.
pavlo
pavloconga

Postby willie55 » Thu Apr 29, 2010 6:39 pm